delihost.blogg.se

Cambridge soundworks cd88
Cambridge soundworks cd88










cambridge soundworks cd88

So how come this radio costs $300?Ĭonclusion: This thing is going right back to CSW. And yes, my little $10 Sony again pulls in all the FM stations just fine. Nope! It is obvious that the unit will need an external FM antenna to work properly on FM. I even hooked up the unit to my Monster Power Supply to see if that helped. This was better, but it had trouble pulling in several major stations clearly - that's right, $300 and I get static on major FM stations. Then I tried some FM stations, with CSW's little FM antenna attached. My $10 Sony radio gets better AM reception. That means I couldn't listen to the AM station if I kept the radio. Just couldn't get rid of the static and radio noise. I really wanted this thing to work so I tried it in several rooms and positions. A little improvement but only if the unit faced the wall. Tried to move the radio around as CSW recommends.

cambridge soundworks cd88

Second The Radio: I live in Metro Atlanta and tuned into the MAJOR AM station here - the static/radio noise was horrible. I turned the bass down low - but still the same impact. When I put in a cd (Jacintha's Here's to Ben), I couldn't believe what I heard.on certain upper mid-range notes the speakers sort of warbled. I have never been more disappointed with an audio product.įirst the sound: I expected decent sound, but nothing over the top - I mean let's be reasonable, it's only a $300 boombox. super radios some recive better than others and out out of the box and some need the pots turned a bit.Over all this ones a winner and well worth your time and money.Īfter much research and positive reviews I eagerly awaited the arrival of the 88CD. No other brand beats the sound this modle can offer but some are more sensitive in the tuner section than others,not a desighn flaw just poor alighnment from the factory and easily resolved by a good tech.Įven G.E. It isent a tube rig but it is very pleasent sounding so its a good starter for the new born to listen on as oneĭay he will get all dad's Manley Labs,Audion,Music Hall and around 6000 records and lots of CD's. I keep one in the babeys nursery and the others in the kitchen and bedroom. The transport in the CDP is the weakest link but proper isolation tweeks such as placeing the unit on heavy cork will help in getting a better read to the DAC.I can't comment on the alarm features because I don't use them. This radio screams Kloss voiceing and thats why I have 3 of them. First I should mention I grew up on the 1968 KLH modle 6 and 5 speakers and have owned sevral modle 21's,so I know what to expect fron the late Henry Kloss. First off the picture on this review is the CSW 730 and not the modle 88 or modle 88CD.












Cambridge soundworks cd88